Just to say hi ...

Hi everyone, my name is Mark (I guess you guessed that!) and I am a full-time Carer for my disabled partner Elizabeth. When I’m not wearing my Carer’s hat I work as a historian and occasional speaker, though am now officially semi-retired. I am also into spiritual research and comparative religion and am trying my hand at meditation. I enjoy a wide range of interests, and am a good cook (worked for years in the hotel business). I love animals and have two Siberian Forest cats. I’ve been a Carer now for nine years, but due to my partner’s disability the role has become more full-on. She is a talented watercolourist and we support each other in our different interests. I also love old classic comedies (anything with Ronnie Barker!) and a variety of music from grand opera to country and western. I enjoy hearing other people’s stories and sharing hints and tips on Caring. As we all know, it’s easy to get ‘burn-out’.

Hello Mark and welcome. I am also a part time kinship carer for my little brother who is three now. My interests include crochet, sewing, beadwork and anything to do with exercise. I work as a freelance massage therapist. When not at work I am either sleeping, reading or out with friends at a concert etc. I also love getting out of my flat.
What is the nature of your wife’s impairment? Is it a physical disability or not? Have you looked at getting additional support for her? A needs assessment is the first part of the process. A social worker can assist you.

Kinship carers ?

A thread which will be of an advantage to you in that role :

https://www.carersuk.org/forum/news-and-campaigns/latest-caring-news/kinship-and-or-family-carers-guidance-news-articles-this-forum-supports-kinship-carers-cuk-does-not-31009?hilit=kinship

Hey