Advice regarding family of person I'm caring for

New to the forum here so, hello :slight_smile:

I have been caring for an old neighbour of mine for the last 5 years who has Parkinson’s who had to go into hospital (and then a rehab centre) 3 months ago and due to Covid restrictions I’ve been unable to visit until recently.

Over the past few weeks I’ve been making appointments to see him only for them to be cancelled to to safety reasons but learned this week, from a case manager, that family members have put a stop to all visits who aren’t family. I’m not allowed to visit, call him or even be told how he’s getting on. And it’s not just me but friends and neighbours who have all contributed in helping over the years who are not allowed any visits, calls or information.

For the record the family are a sister and brother who have not been interested in helping or visiting for 2 decades.

Is there anything I can do? We’ve all just seemed to be pushed aside for no reason and I’m not even sure why these family members are being allowed to dictate who is and isn’t allowed to contact him.

It’s also not really fair on the person I’m caring for as he’s seen no friends, neighbours or his carer at all for 3 months and I’m sure he’ll be wondering if we even care.

I’m just a little bit lost at the moment and left in limbo on where to go from here. :frowning:

Any advice appreciated.

Hi Craig,

welcome to the forum.

Oh dear, are they visiting instead?!

Have your written to him or rung him (how understandable is his speech on the telephone?)

Does the person have mental capacity? If so, it is up to him to decide who should visit.

If not, does anyone have POA for him?

Would he be able to communicate his wishes to an advocate?

Sorry to ask so many questions! Just trying to work out a possible way forward.

Melly1