Newbie - any advice please

I have been caring for my husband for seven years - he has multiple health problems, heart failure, kidney disease and diabetic neuropathy. The final condition means he is unable to walk more than a few feet without becoming extremely unsteady. I am really unable to leave him alone as he really tries to be independent and tries to walk, even to the bathroom, but can easily fall. He is very clear mentally and on a good day is great fun to be with but other days he is very sleepy and dopey. I know he feels guilty about the. lack of life for both of us
Unfortunately he has recently had a heart attack and whilst in hospital it was discovered that the crack on his heel has ulcerated. This is being treated daily by the community nurses (who are excellent by the way!) and is now on his third type of antibiotic.
However, my main concern is that have no close family who can look after him and I am afraid to leave him which means we are both housebound. I do not drive due to my own medical problems. He is extremely independent and has made it clear he does not wish to visit a club even though it means I would be able to do simple things like taking a ‘head clearing’ walk.
Sorry for such a long and no doubt boring post but at least I got it off my chest. Many thanks everyone.

Hi and a warm welcome to the forum.
So hard on you as the caree when the person you are caring for is wanting to maintain their independence, I was in a similar situation with my Nan, such a fiercely independent woman.
Are their any befriender groups in your area? Have you had a carers assessment Carer's assessment | Carers UK to assess your needs?

Have not even heard of the assessment!!! Will have to look into it. Have recently applied for the carer’s allowance but am waiting to hear.
I think I really just was having a bad day and needed to let off some steam so thanks anyway

We all have days like that Sue, how are you feeling today?